Stuck in a rut

I love running, I really do, but lately I have been having trouble.  My mind is willing, but my body is not as able.  I feel like my runs are missing something.  I feel like I am not performing as best as I could be.  I have been blaming it on the cold weather and tired legs still recovering from the marathon, but is that really it?  Do I have a nagging injury that requires more time to heal?

I have been keeping up with my goal to incorporate strength training into my weekly routine.  And with the Princess Half Marathon coming up in three weeks I wanted to get some more miles under my belt before the race.  This past weekend I got in an 8 mile run and enjoyed it, but my hip was really hurting afterwards.  I would like to get a least a 10+ mile run in by February 15th.

We had some snow on Monday so I am hoping to get in a run on Tuesday before another storm comes on Wednesday dumping 6-10 inches on us.  I think I will take the opportunity to take a break until Saturday and let my legs heal some more and I will work on more strength training and physical therapy exercises and sled riding!  I just miss that time alone listening to my pod casts.  I may have to turn my run time into a walk time.  How can I miss out on getting out into this beautiful scenery?!

2014-02-04 07.20.31

Have you ever been in a rut?  What do you do to get out of it?